Women's Major Golf Championships

The Ladies Professional Golfer's Association (LPGA) represents the oldest organization of professional female golfers. Founded in 1950, the LPGA organizes the top women's golf tour known as the LPGA Tour. From the beginning, women's golf had between 2-5 major golf championships each year, rather than the 4 set majors of the men's game. Today, the LPGA Tour has 5 major championships.

ANA Inspiration

The ANA Inspiration was established by celebrity Dinah Shore in 1972. It is the first women's major of the year and is played annually at the Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, California.  Granted major status in 1983, the tournament has had several name changes to reflect changing sponsorship deals. The ANA Inspiration is presently sponsored by Japanese airliner All Nippon Airways (ANA) following previous deals with Nabisco and Colgate. When a golfer wins the tournament, she celebrates by jumping into the 18th hole's water hazard, known as Champion's Lake or "Poppie's Pond". 

Current Champion - Ryu So-yeon (2017)


Women's PGA Championship

Formerly known as the LPGA Championship, the Women's PGA Championship is the second major championship of the LPGA Tour. The Women's PGA Championship, first organized in 1955, has been played at multiple courses throughout America. It has enjoyed numerous multiple winners, including 4-time champion Mary "Mickey" Wright. 

Current Champion: Brooke Henderson (2016)


U.S. Women's Open Championship

Founded in 1946, the U.S. Women's Open is the oldest women's major in existence. Open to all professionals and amateurs with handicaps under 2.4, the U.S. Women's Open Championship has seen numerous upsets. One such event was the 2008 victory of 19 year old Inbee Park, the youngest U.S. Women's Open champion.

Current Champion: Sung Hyun Park (2016)


Women's British Open

Founded as female equivalent to the much older Open Championship, the Women's British Open represents the fourth major in women's golf. The tournament, founded in 1976, has been played at courses throughout the United Kingdom, including the historic Old Course at St. Andrews. 

Current Champion: Ariya Jutanugarn (2016)


The Evian Championship

The Evian Championship is the last major championship of the women's golf tour. Played annually at the Evian Resort Golf Club in September, this French tournament has been considered a major tournament since 2000. The Evian Championship is currently played over 4 rounds, with a cut after the second round. Chun In-gee holds the record for the lowest score at the tournament with a -21.

Current Champion: Chun In-gee (2016)



Kenneth W. joined GolfLink

Clyde W.  left a review of Escanaba

Joseph Z. joined GolfLink
Dennis D. joined GolfLink
Hanh D. joined GolfLink

View Activity Feed

Video of the Day
Playing a Fairway Bunker Watch Video>>

Related Articles

Article Image The Biggest Purses On the 2019-2020 PGA Tour

  The PGA Tour is the most prestigious and popular golf tour ...

Article Image What are Alternate Events on the PGA Tour?

  The PGA Tour is known for its big money events full of the ...

Article Image The History of Professional Golf

For almost as long as there has been golf, there have been prof...

Article Image About U.S. Open Golf

The U.S. Open is one of the four major championship in golf, kn...

Article Image Best Games for a Threesome

.videowrapper { float: none; clear: both; width: 100%;...

View All Related Articles