Masters Golf Tournament Winners and Scores from 1934 to Today

By Timothy Sexton

Dustin Johnson won the 2020 Masters
The Masters golf tournament was the co-creation of golfing legend Bobby Jones and Clifford Roberts. It is held every year at Augusta National Golf Club in Georgia. The Masters is the premier tournament of golf's Grand Slam, and the opportunity to slip on the winner's green jacket is considered the high point of any pro's career. Over the years, the course has been the site of streaks, broken records and shocking surprises. Masters winners have been seasoned veterans and fresh-faced rookies alike. Looking for Masters winning scores for specific years? Find all years, winners and scores listed below.

Masters Winners Through the Years

The list of Masters tournament winners is sprinkled with some of the most famous names in golf. Over the past nine decades, top golfers like Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Tiger Woods and Gary Player have claimed the famed Masters title. Woods (1997) and Jordan Spieth (2015) share the record for the lowest Masters winning score of 270.



The very first Masters was held in 1934. At the time, not even Bobby Jones and Clifford Roberts knew that it would become such an important and vital element of professional golf. It is interesting to note that the winning scores of the very first Masters are not particularly higher than most of the tournament's recent winners.

Year Golfer Score
1934 Horton Smith 284
1935 Gene Sarazen 285
1936 Horton Smith 285
1937 Byron Nelson 283
1938 Henry Picard 285
1939 Ralph Guldahl 279



The 1940s is an important decade in the history of the Masters for two reasons. This was the only decade in which the tournament was canceled. From 1943-1945, the Masters was suspended due to World War II. The other reason the 1940s is an important decade is because 1949 marked the first time that the Masters winner received the coveted green jacket.

Year Golfer Score
1940 Jimmy Demaret 280
1941 Craig Wood 280
1942 Byron Nelson 280
1946 Herman Keiser 282
1947 Jimmy Demaret 281
1948 Claude Harmon 279
1949 Sam Snead 282



The 1950s was notable for the Masters due to a four-year run in which the winner was either one of two legends, Ben Hogan and Sam Snead. The decade drew to a close with the crowning of a legend-to-be named Arnold Palmer.

Year Golfer Score
1950 Jimmy Demaret 283
1951 Ben Hogan 280
1952 Sam Snead 286
1953 Ben Hogan 274
1954 Sam Snead 289
1955 Cary Middlecoff 279
1956 Jack Burke 289
1957 Doug Ford 283
1958 Arnold Palmer 284
1959 Art Wall Jr. 284




The 1960s was a golfer's dream for the Masters. The two biggest names in golf for the next two decades, Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus, each battled for supremacy by slipping on the green jacket more than half the decade.

Year Golfer Score
1960 Arnold Palmer 282
1961 Gary Player 280
1962 Arnold Palmer 280
1963 Jack Nicklaus 286
1964 Arnold Palmer 276
1965 Jack Nicklaus 271
1966 Jack Nicklaus 288
1967 Gay Brewer Jr. 280
1968 Bob Goalby 277
1969 George Archer 281



The Masters in the 1970s was mainly a battle between Gary Player and Jack Nicklaus against a host of one-time winners.

Year Golfer Score
1970 Billy Casper 279
1971 Charles Coody 279
1972 Jack Nicklaus 286
1973 Tommy Aaron 283
1974 Gary Player 278
1975 Jack Nicklaus 276
1976 Ray Floyd 271
1977 Tom Watson 276
1978 Gary Player 277
1979 Fuzzy Zoeller 280



The 1980s was big news for the Masters as Jack Nicklaus won his last of a record six tournaments.

Year Golfer Score
1980 Severiano Ballesteros 275
1981 Tom Watson 280
1982 Craig Stadler 284
1983 Severiano Ballesteros 280
1984 Ben Crenshaw 277
1985 Bernhard Langer 282
1986 Jack Nicklaus 279
1987 Larry Mize 285
1988 Sandy Lyle 281
1989 Nick Faldo 283



The 1990s will most likely be remembered mainly as the decade in which Tiger Woods won his first Masters.

Year Golfer Score
1990 Nick Faldo 278
1991 Ian Woosnam 277
1992 Fred Couples 275
1993 Bernard Langer 277
1994 Jose M.Olazabal 279
1995 Ben Crenshaw 274
1996 Nick Faldo 276
1997 Tiger Woods 270
1998 Mark O'Meara 279
1999 Jose M. Olazabal 280



Tiger Woods cemented his place in history as one of the greatest golfers to ever play the game and a large part of his legacy will be his domination of the Masters in the early part of the decade. The Masters of the 2000s will also be remembered as the tournament in which Phil Mickelson established himself as a majors player.

Year Golfer Score
2000 Vijay Singh 278
2001 Tiger Woods 272
2002 Tiger Woods 276
2003 Mike Weir 281
2004 Phil Mickelson 279
2005 Tiger Woods 276
2006 Phil Mickelson 281
2007 Zach Johnson 289
2008 Trevor Immelman 280
2009 Angel Cabrera 276



Masters winners in the 2010s brought many new faces, including Jordan Spieth who became the second youngest golfer to ever win the title. Spieth was just 21 years old when he went wire-to-wire to win the 2015 Masters with a record-tying 270.

Year Golfer Score
2010 Phil Mickelson 272
2011 Charl Schwartzel 274
2012 Bubba Watson 278
2013 Adam Scott 279
2014 Bubba Watson 280
2015 Jordan Spieth 270
2016 Danny Willett 283
2017 Sergio Garcia 279
2018 Patrick Reed 273
2019 Tiger Woods 275



The new decade of Masters tournaments got off to an unprecidented start, with the 2020 tournament being moved to November due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Year Golfer Score
2020 Dustin Johnson  268
2021 Hideki Matsuyama 278

About The Author

Timothy Sexton is an award-winning author who started writing in 1994. He has written on topics ranging from politics and golf to nutrition and travel, and his work appears online for, Disaboom, and MOJO, among others. He has also done work for "Sherlock Holmes and Philosophy." He holds a Bachelor of Arts in English from the University of West Florida.


Campbell A.  Scored 73 at  Esmeralda, Esmerelda Spokane, Washington

Campbell A.  Scored 87 at  Fairways Cheney, Washington

Campbell A.  Scored 82 at  Indian Canyon Spokane, Washington

Campbell A.  Scored 80 at  Downriver Spokane, Washington

Campbell A.  Scored 82 at  Downriver Spokane, Washington

View Activity Feed

Related Articles

Article Image Making the U.S. Open: Qualifying and Exemptions Explained

.videowrapper { float: none; clear: both; width: 100%;...

Article Image PGA Championship History

The PGA Championship is one of golf's four major championsh...

Article Image Wolf Golf Rules and Strategies for a Profitable Round

In Wolf, you’ll be the “Wolf” once every four hol...

Article Image Golf Skins Game: Everything You Need to Know

In a skins game, the person with the lowest score on a hole wins a ...

Article Image The Golfer's Guide to Winter Rules: Proceed With Confidence in Every Situation

For avid golfers, there’s no better feeling than heading back...

View All Related Articles