Memorial Tournament Honorees

By Ryan Watson

The Memorial Tournament was created by Jack Nicklaus as a way to both pay homage to the most important players in golf history and to challenge the best current golfers in the world. Each year, the winning golfer gets his named etched onto a plaque that remains up in the Muirfield Village clubhouse for the foreseeable future. The Memorial also honors one or more players each year with a banquet and their own plaque to commemorate all they have done for the sport of golf. Nicklaus himself was honored in 2000 for his own contributions to the game. Here is the complete list of Memorial Tournament Honorees.

Year Memorial Honorees
2020 Nick Price, Gene Littler, Ted Ray
2019 Judy Rankin
2018 Hale Irwin, Jock Hutchinson, Willie Turnesa
2017 Greg Norman, Tony Lema, Ken Venturi, Harvie Ward
2016 Johnny Miller, Leo Diegel, Horton Smith
2015 Nick Faldo, Dorothy Campbell, Jerome Travers, Walter Travis
2014 Annika Sorenstam, Jim Barnes, Joe Carr, Willie Park, Jr.
2013 Raymond Floyd
2012 Tom Watson
2011 Nancy Lopez

2010 Seve Ballesteros
2009 JoAnne Carner and Jack Burke Jr.
2008 Tony Jacklin, Ralph Guldahl, Charles B. Macdonald and Craig Wood
2007 Louise Suggs and Dow Finsterwald
2006 Michael Bonallack, Charles Coe, Lawson Little, Henry Picard, Paul Runyan and Denny Shute
2005 Betsy Rawls and Cary Middlecoff
2004 Lee Trevino and Joyce Wethered
2003 Julius Boros and William C. Campbell
2002 Kathy Whitworth and Bobby Locke
2001 Payne Stewart
2000 Jack Nicklaus
1999 Ben Hogan
1998 Ben Hogan
1997 Gary Player
1996 Billy Casper

1995 Willie Anderson, John Ball, James Braid, Harold HIlton and JH Taylor
1994 Mickey Wright
1993 Arnold Palmer
1992 Joseph Dey
1991 Babe Zaharias
1990 Jimmy Demaret
1989 Henry Cotton
1988 Patty Berg
1987 Old and Young Tom Morris
1986 Robert de Vicenzo
1985 Chick Evans
1984 Sam Snead
1983 Tommy ARmour
1982 Glenna Collett-Vare
1981 Harry Vardon
1980 Byron Nelson
1979 Gene Sarazen
1978 Francis Ouimet
1977 Walter Hagen
1976 Bobby Jones

About the Author

Ryan Watson is a freelance sportswriter and history professor. He has been an avid fan of golf since his father signed him up for golf camp as a young child. Ryan enjoys following the professional game and learning about new equipment and gadgets.