Memorial Tournament Honorees

The Memorial Tournament was created by Jack Nicklaus as a way to both pay homage to the most important players in golf history and to challenge the best current golfers in the world. Each year, the winning golfer gets his named etched onto a plaque that remains up in the Muirfield Village clubhouse for the foreseeable future. The Memorial also honors one or more players each year with a banquet and their own plaque to commemorate all they have done for the sport of golf. Nicklaus himself was honored in 2000 for his own contributions to the game. Here is the complete list of Memorial Tournament Honorees. 

Gene Littler, Golfer With a Gorgeous Swing, Dies at 88 - The New ...
Gene Littler, 2020 Memorial Honoree. photo courtesy of The New York Times

Year Memorial Honorees
2020 Nick Price, Gene Littler, Ted Ray
2019 Judy Rankin
2018 Hale Irwin, Jock Hutchinson, Willie Turnesa
2017 Greg Norman, Tony Lema, Ken Venturi, Harvie Ward
2016 Johnny Miller, Leo Diegel, Horton Smith
2015 Nick Faldo, Dorothy Campbell, Jerome Travers, Walter Travis
2014 Annika Sorenstam, Jim Barnes, Joe Carr, Willie Park, Jr.
2013 Raymond Floyd
2012 Tom Watson
2011 Nancy Lopez

Golfer Nancy Lopez: Biography and Career Facts
Nancy Lopez. photo courtesy of the Associated Press

2010 Seve Ballesteros
2009 JoAnne Carner and Jack Burke Jr.
2008 Tony Jacklin, Ralph Guldahl, Charles B. Macdonald and Craig Wood
2007 Louise Suggs and Dow Finsterwald
2006 Michael Bonallack, Charles Coe, Lawson Little, Henry Picard, Paul Runyan and Denny Shute
2005 Betsy Rawls and Cary Middlecoff
2004 Lee Trevino and Joyce Wethered
2003 Julius Boros and William C. Campbell
2002 Kathy Whitworth and Bobby Locke
2001 Payne Stewart
2000 Jack Nicklaus
1999 Ben Hogan
1998 Ben Hogan
1997 Gary Player
1996 Billy Casper

7 numbers that tell just how great Billy Casper was | This is the ...
Billy Casper. photo courtesy Golf Digest. 

1995 Willie Anderson, John Ball, James Braid, Harold HIlton and JH Taylor
1994 Mickey Wright
1993 Arnold Palmer
1992 Joseph Dey
1991 Babe Zaharias
1990 Jimmy Demaret
1989 Henry Cotton
1988 Patty Berg
1987 Old and Young Tom Morris
1986 Robert de Vicenzo
1985 Chick Evans
1984 Sam Snead
1983 Tommy ARmour
1982 Glenna Collett-Vare
1981 Harry Vardon
1980 Byron Nelson
1979 Gene Sarazen
1978 Francis Ouimet
1977 Walter Hagen
1976 Bobby Jones

The case of Bobby Jones' missing medal
Bobby Jones. photo from Archive Photos/Allsport Hulton


Jim C. joined GolfLink
Israel O. joined GolfLink
Chris C. joined GolfLink
Bill M. joined GolfLink

View Activity Feed

Video of the Day
Setting Lag In Your Swing Watch Video>>

Related Articles

Article Image 2020 PGA Championship: Full Payout and Results

Jeff Chiu/AP Photo The first major championship of the season is i...

Article Image PGA Championship Stories: John Daly’s Unbelievable 1991 Win

Getty Images/Sports Illustrated In 1991, Crooked Stick Golf Club i...

Article Image PGA Championship Stories: The Lost Trophy

photo credit: GolfWeek The PGA Championship is one of golf’s...

Article Image 2020 WGC-FedEx St. Jude Invitational: Full Results and Payout

Justin Thomas overcame a crowded field to claim the WGC-FedEx St. J...

View All Related Articles