List of British Open Champions Since WWII

Silhouette of Man Playing Golf during Sunset

The Open Championship, also known as the British Open, is the oldest major golf tournament in the world. First contested between 8 British professional golfers in 1860 in Prestwick, Scotland, the British Open has become the most important European golf tournament. It would not be until 1907 that a non-British golfer, the Frenchman Arnaud Massy, finally captured the famed Claret Jug. The first American to win the British Open was Walter Hagen in 1922. Following World War II, the Open Championship became much more competitive as technological advances allowed the best golfers from across the globe to easily travel to the tournament. The following is the list of champions of the British Open since WWII. 



2019: Shane Lowry 
2018: Francesco Molinari
2017: Jordan Spieth 
2016: Henrik Stenson 
2015: Zach Johnson
2014: Rory McIlroy
2013: Phil Mickelson
2012: Ernie Els
2011: Darren Clarke
2010: Louis Oosthuizen



2009: Stewart Cink
2008: Padraig Harrington
2007: Padraig Harrington 
2006: Tiger Woods 
2005: Tiger Woods
2004: Todd Hamilton
2003: Ben Curtis
2002: Ernie Els
2001: David Duval
2000: Tiger Woods



1999: Paul Lawrie
1998: Mark O'Meara
1997: Justin Leonard
1996: Tom Lehman 
1995: John Daly
1994: Nick Price
1993: Greg Norman
1992: Nick Faldo
1991: Ian Baker-Finch
1990: Nick Faldo



1989: Mark Calcavecchia
1988: Seve Ballesteros
1987: Nick Faldo
1986: Greg Norman
1985: Sandy Lyle
1984: Seve Ballesteros
1983: Tom Watson
1982: Tom Watson
1981: Bill Rogers
1980: Tom Watson



1979: Seve Ballesteros
1978: Jack Nicklaus
1977: Tom Watson
1976: Johnny Miller
1975: Tom Watson
1974: Gary Player
1973: Tom Weiskopf
1972: Lee Trevino
1971: Lee Trevino
1970: Jack Nicklaus



1969: Tony Jacklin
1968: Gary Player
1967: Roberto De Vicenzo
1966: Jack Nicklaus
1965: Peter Thomson
1964: Tony Lema
1963: Bob Charles
1962: Arnold Palmer
1961: Arnold Palmer
1960: Kel Nagle



1959: Gary Player
1958: Peter Thomson
1957: Bobby Locke
1956: Peter Thomson
1955: Peter Thomson
1954: Peter Thomson
1953: Ben Hogan 
1952: Bobby Locke
1951: Max Faulkner
1950: Bobby Locke



1949: Bobby Locke
1948: Henry Cotton
1947: Fred Daly
1946: Sam Snead
No British Open 1940-1945 due to World War II


Timothy S. joined GolfLink
Kelly M. joined GolfLink
Joseph P. joined GolfLink
Christopher J. joined GolfLink

Matt H.  left a review of Hazelton

View Activity Feed

Video of the Day
Cardinal Sin Of Putting: Too Short Watch Video>>

Related Articles

Article Image Golf Books Worth Reading: 18 in America by Dylan Dethier

  With many of us stuck home for the foreseeable future and w...

Article Image Golf Books Worth Reading: The Last Stand of Payne Stewart

photo courtesy the Wall Street Journal With many of us stuck home ...

Article Image Professional Golf Tours Suspended Amidst Coronavirus Pandemic

The PGA Tour, European PGA Tour, and LPGA Tour have all suspended opera...

Article Image The Players Championship: Tournament History

  The Players Championship, often referred to as simply the P...

View All Related Articles