Flyover Yardage Map Reviews Directions
777 Delaware Park Blvd
Wilmington, DE  19804-4122
United States
Toll Free: (800) 417-5687
F: (302) 993-8957
White Clay Creek Course

18 hole regulation length course

Public golf course

72 par | 7,007 yards

Bent grass

Suggest Edit

White Clay Creek Golf Course

The 18-hole "White Clay Creek" course at the White Clay Creek Country Club At Delaware Park facility in Wilmington, Delaware features 7,007 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72. Designed by Arthur Hills, ASGCA/Steve Forest & Associates, the White Clay Creek golf course opened in 2005. Ryan Kidwell manages the course as the Director of Golf.


Rate this course:

Reviewed June 18, 2012

Wow....this is a spectacular course and amazing design. To begin, the staff is more than welcome to drive the golf cart to your car to pick up your clubs. Then before you tee off you realize the cart has a computer tracker detailed with a scorecard, distance from hole, and pace of play. Top notch. Before you tee off you can drive unlimitedly as well as a nice area to chip with balls provided, all included in the price. It is a bit pricey $80, but worth it, at least if you've never played here before. The maintainance is world class and unique holes abound with water coming into play on about 15 holes. The scenery is beautiful with the creek weaving in and out. I even saw a fox on one of my visits. They do have logo balls for the logo ball lover like myself, however it would be better if the logo ball had the name of the course on it instead of just a design though. However, with all the great things about this course there are a few drawbacks. One is that, although the water coming into play adds to the beauty, it forces many layups and or attempted carries with half clubs. The greens are nice, but entirely too fast. Each hole, if not on the green itself, is mostly surrounded by higher grass and any chip onto the green will run well past the hole. This forces you to hit away from every pin so you can use the greens speed as you chip on to your advantage which kind of eliminates the accuracy element of your game. Also you must take a cart here. I enjoy walking, but the distance between holes is often really far and a cart is mandatory and for good reason. The biggest problem though, are the fairways. Yes, maintained without blemish but they are short and very very hard, almost like astro turf. This makes for more scalded shots than I'm accustomed to. In fact my best round came a day after it rained the whole day before, simply because the fairways were softer. It is a must play however. Overall rating is an A...

Reviewed August 16, 2011

played white clay on july 4th. wish that some of the par4s from the whites were a little longer. overall like the course, would play from the black tees if i ever go back. unfortunately my 4some had a bad experience with an idiot ranger. read my email below that i sent to everyone at del.park regarding our round. wasnt looking for a free round, but at least a we'll look into it company response would have been nice. NOT WORTH $85, especially with so many other courses around in the $50 range: Frog Hollow, Back Creek, Rock Manor, Odessa National...

hope everyone had a safe and happy july 4th. finally after years of saying going to play white clay, we did, and im mad at myself for not breaking 80 (played from the whites, missed every putt). like the course, just couldnt putt that day. so the reason for my email...
july 4th tee time for 4 at 8am under the name xxxxxxx. never play on holidays because its usually a 5hr round (rather play in 3hrs), but its my friends birthday, so game on. from the first tee we were waiting to hit our next shots because of the groups in front. not complaining, we knew this going in but it was a nice day for golf with friends. i wanna say it was the 5th hole the ranger asked us to let a 2some thru (2 kids) next time they caught up to us. now mind you as hes talking to us we cant hit because of the groups in front of us, there is no where for us to go...but okay. the ranger comes up to us on the 9th tee box, and says - let these guys go thru, u tee off wait and then they will tee off and play thru- the ranger was acting like these were the owners kids or something. i ask the ranger where are they going to go? we're waiting on every shot. if you want to zip thru a course tee off early! u think i wanna play a 4hr+ round in 90heat? so because this 2some can't get up early enough in the morning and want to play quick now we have to wait on them??? TOTAL B.S...and this is after they're hitting into us for no reason. real nice golf etiquette. WE HAVE NO WHERE TO GO, WE ARE ALSO WAITING, BUT WE'RE NOT HITTING INTO THE GROUP IN FRONT OF US. i want to know if the ranger said anything to the groups in front of us about moving the pace of play? according to your GPS CLOCK in the cart we were always ahead of pace of play and waiting.... anyway, because he's the ranger and is supposed to know what he's doing... we tee off on the ninth and wait for the 2some. the 2some finishes the 8th green, and now is sitting in the shade after crossing the street. we wait a few minutes for them to drive up to the tee box, nothing. so we continue on, wave as we near them, slow down, wait for them to say- do you mind if we play through? not a word. the ranger told them they could play thru, what were they waiting for an engraved invitation? we did let them thru on the next hole, only because the ranger asked us to earlier, and then i could write this email. now thanks to your ranger we had to wait the rest of the round even more. so WTF? we had the earlier tee time (8am), we were waiting on every shot for the group in front. you want to play fast, then tee off early!!!! the course wasn't open in front of us at all, if it was we would've played thru! we weren't slowing any 2some or anyone down. no where for us or them to go, and they were hitting into our group. so is the policy at white clay that complaining to the ranger lets u go thru even if it's busy? well not only did your ranger steal from the golf course (at what $85 a round) because we won't come back, but he stole from your restaurant and bartender. instead of going in for drinks and food after the round, we celebrated xxxxx's birthday, spent $$$$ on lunch and drinks, but not at white clay. what stinks for white clay is that our group has 2 bartenders, 1 retiree, and an accountant, people who love to play golf and spend $$$$.

fairways and greens-

Reviewed July 26, 2011

WOW, for a short course this place has it all. Great practice facility great staff, beautiful layout. Enjoy this course by getting their early and staying late at Rails. Also, wait for them to run a special or it can be pricey.

Reviewed November 01, 2009

I guess I'm in the minority, but I think this is just an awful golf course. I really cannot imagine the type of player who would enjoy playing here, as high handicappers are simply worn out by all the forced carries and narrow shots, and better players forced to hit layup after layup into target areas with little or no option to do anything else. Despite a dead flat property the course is utterly unwalkable, and if you are unlucky enough to play when the course is cart path only you may never finish the round.

My playing partner compared the course to the Bataan Death March. I remember looking at the card on #13, hoping it was number #16 or so, only to learn that I still had a lot of golf to play.

The course is in good shape. The staff was very nice. The facilities are great. The holes themselves don't look bad when viewed individually, but collectively the holes do not add up to a fun round of golf. Instead they add up to a brutal slog of target golf played across miles (literally) of cartpaths.

Reviewed September 03, 2008

Spectacular...can't wait to play again!

Reviewed April 18, 2008

The course layout is nice, water is on play on most holes. The course conditions are great. The Blue/White tees play about the same except for about 4 holes where there are large differences in yardage that will effect your tee shot with a long carry to get to the fairway. Great course, I have played it 2 times in 2007 and will be playing again this weekend. This should be a 4.5 - 5.0 rated course. No way is it a 3.5 course.

Reviewed July 22, 2007

I have been playing golf for twenty years and recently moved to Delaware. I have played several courses in the Delaware Valley and White Clay Creek stands alone as the best course in the area. From the moment I drove up to the Clubhouse, I was greeted by an employee who was pleasant and unloaded my bag and explained to me where to check in. The golf shop was well stocked with ladies items and the staff was very professional and courteous. I did not get a chance to use the indoor learning area but it looked incredible with video swing analysis (which I love!). The outdoor practice putting green was in exceptional condition. The driving range was well stocked and in excellent condition. The Starter on the first tee was very friendly and explained the tees, GPS system, etc and overall layout. Water stations on the course were full and clean. The beverage cart came around three or four times during our round. I was able to grab an outstanding sandwich (good price and from the Clubhouse restaurant!). The entire golf course was in plush condition, including fast greens, immaculate fairways and superb tee boxes. This is by far the best condition golf course I have played on in this area. After I completed my round, I was greeted by another employee who cleaned my clubs and delivered them back to my car. Pace of play was on time and the course is very challenging. What a fun day and first-rate service, I can't wait to return. This is a must play!

Reviewed August 23, 2006

White Clay Creek on the Decline -- August 2006 -- One year later

This course was developed to be the "Shadow Creek" of Delaware Park -- high-end public facility with top amenities and conditions. It suffered severe difficulties to open with White Clay Creek flooding the course after every rain storm. After it opened on 2005, a player likened it to Augusta conditions. After our round yesterday, it measures up to one of the worst public courses I have evey played with regard to conditions -- soggy tees, fairways with half the areas closed off or GUR, greens with 1/2" aeration holes (now that micro aeration is available, I am not sure why people are forced to play on a Chinese Checkerboard). We were not informed about the greens until we checked-in and still had to pay the $75. The "kid" at the desk copped an attitude and there is no where to get a quick hot dog or sandwich before the round -- only a "fine dining" restaurant. There was no beverage cart since there were only about 10 people on the course. Do not play there unless you win big at the on-site casino or like to waste yor money.

Reviewed July 17, 2006

Private club experience

White Clay has accomplished what Hartefeld never could. Great Private club feeling at a public golf course. Locker room with DRY AND STEAM SAUNA first class. Clubhouse first class. Practice facility with short game area first class. golf cart GPS system first class. GOLF COURSE was excellent test of golf from the black tees in great condition. Pace of play was under 4 hours without rushing. Employees were helpful not just going thru the motions for tips.Only negative I had was the water stations found throughout the course were empty on a hot early afternoon. Worth every penny of the $75.00 2pm twilight rate we paid.


Add Photo of this Course

Drop Photo here or click to upload


  • Latest Scores
  • Overall
Rank Golfer Name Handicap Gross Net Date
1 Simon L. 5 35 30 07/20/10
2 Marlon P. N/A 43 43 07/17/08
3 Louis M. N/A 48 48 07/24/14
4 robert O. 17 82 65 07/17/09
5 perry A. 24 92 68 07/09/11
See All
Rank Golfer Name Handicap Gross Net Date
30 Thomas M. N/A 97 83 04/20/17
30 Thomas M. N/A 96 96 07/28/16

Golf Course Information

About White Clay Creek Country Club At Delaware Park

White Clay Creek Country Club At Delaware Park

Golf Only facility

20 tees driving range

18 regulation holes

Awards at White Clay Creek Country Club At Delaware Park

No recent major awards have been noted.

Tournaments of White Clay Creek Country Club At Delaware Park

No local tournaments listed for this course. Add a tournament here.

Course Staff

Ryan Kidwell, Director of Golf
Josh Weaver, Superintendent

Nearby Courses

Del Castle
Delcastle Golf Course & Restaurant
Reviews (14)
Public, 18 holes
6628 yards, par 72
3.1 miles from center of Wilmington
Ed Oliver
Ed Oliver Golf Club
Reviews (9)
Municipal, 18 holes
6115 yards, par 69
5.9 miles from center of Wilmington
Fieldstone Golf Club
Awards (1) | Reviews (4)
Private, 18 holes
6748 yards, par 71
6.7 miles from center of Wilmington
Wilmington Country Club
Awards (1) | Private, 18 holes
6331 yards, par 71
7.3 miles from center of Wilmington
Wilmington Country Club
Awards (1) | Private, 18 holes
7334 yards, par 71
7.3 miles from center of Wilmington

Nearby Cities with Courses

Avondale, PA Golf Courses
Carneys Point, NJ Golf Courses
Elkton, MD Golf Courses
Landenberg, PA Golf Courses
Newark, DE Golf Courses

Nearby Golf Stores

Turin Golf Manufacturing & Golf Facility Outlet
Better Game Golf Shoppe
Gigi Golf Emporium


Best Delaware Golf Courses
Best Golf Courses in North America