Favorite Flyover Yardage Map Input Score Reviews Travel Add to Bucket List Add to Played Courses

Please Rate This Course

Golf Course Reviews

Showing 1 to 10 out of 16 | Page: 1 2

loading...

Monday, July 09, 2012

It's a shame what this course has turned into. I live 10 minutes from Birdsfoot, and when it first opened about 10 years ago, it had a lot of potential with a tough layout and great scenery. Now? It's run by money-hungry thieves that pack the course with as many people as they can cram onto it with no regards to pace of play or the condition of the course. Also, they market themselves heavily to corporate outings and bar-league scrambles, many times having at least 5-10 of these events weekly. The result of this is often greens with an unbelievable amount of un-fixed ball marks and stunningly chewed-up tee-boxes. But don't expect anyone at the course to tell you the true condition of the course or how busy it is when you call for a tee-time; they'll lie to your face and laugh when they take your money. Here's a perfect example: I just played there Sunday, and we had a 4:00 PM tee-time. Apparently, they had had a severe storm come through the area the day before, and there were many large trees down and the course was littered with leaves and twigs (which was never disclosed to us prior to the round) They gladly took our $$$, and the starter told us that the course was wide open. At 9:10 PM, we finally walked off the course after having only completed 14 holes! Yet, we did not once see a ranger dictating the pace of play to the 6 four-somes they had apparently let out right before us. Also, the greens were cratered like the moon, apparently from the 200 man scramble they had let out that morning.

In summary, if you like 6 hour rounds on an overpriced course with barnyard conditions, this is the place for you! Otherwise, don't even waste your time. There are much better choices in the Pittsburgh area in this price range.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

I love the layout and the conditions, especially in the Fall. The last time I played it, I noticed that the cart paths seemed to have improved. I think many of them had the pot holes filled in and were recently "tarred 'n chipped".

The course has a nice driving range and short game practice area very close to the clubhouse and it has a large putting green with lots of variation nearby to the first tee. Many of the greens have multiple levels which makes for a variety of pin placements. It is in Western PA so there are plenty of hills, which adds to the character of the holes.

Two negatives would be the sand bunkers, they don't live up to the rest of the course, and the pace of play. I think it is sometimes difficult for beginners/ high handicappers to find their ball and it really backs up, especially on the back nine.

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

This is an excellent North American Links style track. The fairways and greens are in great condition this time of year. The greens are especailly fast and you must stay below the hole. Bring plenty of golf balls if it gets windy!!!

Sunday, August 09, 2009

Great twilight rates. Tough (but fair) holes. Would play again.

Sunday, June 28, 2009

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Friday, October 10, 2008

Very nice course with beautiful views especially in the fall months when the leaves change. The layout is challenging and the fairways and greens are in good shape nearly all of the time. The email coupon specials make this course an always must play repeated times in a season. The folks are very hospitable there as well.

Sunday, September 21, 2008

Fantastic golf course!! All the hype is true. Great fairways and greens. It's a challenge, but not brutal. The staff is really nice. For the price however, I think that the cart paths could be paved...but that doesn't take away from the enjoyment of this great scenic course. Well worth the trip!

Friday, September 12, 2008

My favoite course within an hour of Pittsburgh. Always in excellent condition. Nice practice facility. Friendly staff. The course is pricey compared to other courses in the region, but it is worth it.

Thursday, August 07, 2008

Was disappointed with course maintenance. The fairways had a lot of dead spots and divots. The greens ran nice. The rough is mainly weeds on most holes, even within a foot off the fairway. Feels like you are hitting off pavement in these spots. Scenery is very nice and the holes are challenging. Amenities are lacking but people are nice. Expensive on weekends without any deals. For all the hype that I heard about the course I was let down.

Showing 1 to 10 out of 16 | Page: 1 2

loading...

Award Name

No recent major awards have been noted.
Video of the Day
Release Through The Swing Watch Video>>

Tee Times Near Freeport, PA

Find a Golf Course

Please enter some search criteria.
Popular Golf Courses
Top 100 Courses Book Tee Times

Nearby Courses

Cabin Greens
Cabin Greens Golf Course
Reviews (3)
Public, 9 holes
2868 yards, par 36
2.7 miles from center of Freeport
Buffalo Valley
Buffalo Valley Country Club
Reviews (4)
Public, 18 holes
6775 yards, par 71
4.2 miles from center of Freeport
River Forest
River Forest Country Club
Reviews (9)
Private, 18 holes
6202 yards, par 71
6.0 miles from center of Freeport
Buffalo
Buffalo Golf Course
Reviews (13)
Public, 18 holes
6324 yards, par 71
3.9 miles from center of Freeport
Kittanning
Kittanning Country Club
Reviews (1)
Private, 9 holes
3153 yards, par 36
6.5 miles from center of Freeport