Sign In or Start your 14-Day Free Trial!
Can anyone identify these clubs?
Search the forum:
Search
Member Post
neo312's avatar

Joined: 7/24/2008
Posts: 4
Posted: May/14/2009 11:07 PM PST
Has anyone ever seen these blades?
http://i7.ebayimg.com/01/i/001/48/84/c576_1_sbl.JP G {remove teh spaces in the URL}

It's a Golfsmith brand blade iron, but I can't find any information on it. It's clearly older. I'm just trying to find out if they're garbage or not. They simply have the Golfsmith logo on the back and the word "Stainless" on the hosel.

I found a set of for $40 at a used sporting goods shop and thought they might be nice to hold on to. I'm still new to the game with something close to a 500+ handicap, so it's not like I can make great use of them, but I'd like to think that some day I might. At the very least, I'm curious if they're worth anything so I could at least trade them in. $40 just seemed really cheap for blades, especially if they're forged.

Thanks.
Igolfyou's avatar
in your head
Joined: 3/21/2009
Posts: 52
Posted: May/15/2009 9:44 PM PST
golfsmith makes crap they always have they always will
neo312's avatar

Joined: 7/24/2008
Posts: 4
Posted: May/16/2009 6:01 PM PST
Haha...thanks for the feedback. Any specific reason for the..."dissatisfaction" with Golfsmith's house products? I've honestly not played long enough or played enough equipment to judge crap vs. non-crap. All I've got to go on at the moment are other player's reviews and I've seen a following for some of their equipment.

Thanks.
Igolfyou's avatar
in your head
Joined: 3/21/2009
Posts: 52
Posted: May/16/2009 9:19 PM PST
Ok golfsmith makes supplies and components for golfers that want to build their own clubs. While there a few high end components on the market golfsmith does not carry them. To be blunt if you want a club that looks like a ping,callaway or taylormade but want to pay half the price buy a golfsmith club but be warned the metal is cheap
and they wont last or feel the same as brand name clubs.